Home | Sitemap | Books | Poems | Recordings | News | Notes | Criticism | Links | Newsletter | Archives | Members | Copyright | Search


The W. H. Auden Society is registered as a not-for-profit corporation in the State of New York. It was founded in 1986 by Katherine Bucknell and Nicholas Jenkins, who remain in charge of its day-to-day (more accurately, month-to-month) operations. The President of the society is Edward Mendelson.

The Founding Members of the society were Alan Ansen, John B. Auden, John Bayley, B. C. Bloomfield, Joseph Brodsky, Katherine Bucknell, Humphrey Carpenter, Robert Craft, Dorothy J. Farnan, James Fenton, John Fuller, Samuel Hynes, Nicholas Jenkins, Lincoln Kirstein, Edward Mendelson, Naomi Mitchison, Charles Monteith, Peter Porter, Janet Adam Smith, Monroe K. Spears, Sir Stephen Spender, James and Tania Stern, and Edward Upward.

Information on the Society's Newsletter may be found on the publications page.

Return to the membership page or to the home page.